You typed "best sea buckthorn brand" because the shelf is confusing. One bottle says puree, the next says omega-7, a third is a capsule, and none of them describe themselves in the same units. This guide puts four brands side by side on facts you can check yourself: format, berries per serving, sugar per serving, how long a pack lasts and what happens after you open it, taken from each brand's own website on September 28, 2026.
Human Renaissance is not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by any brand named in this article. Brand and product names belong to their owners. Every competitor fact below comes from that brand's own product page or label image, checked on September 28, 2026. Prices and labels change, so check the brand's site before you buy.
The short answer: the best sea buckthorn brand is the one whose format matches what you want from the berry. If you want the whole berry as food, you are choosing between two purees, Human Renaissance in single-serve pouches and Sibu Omega-7 Pure in a bottle. If you want sea buckthorn oil in a capsule, you are choosing between Sibu, SeabuckWonders and New Chapter. The table below shows where each one lands.
Sea buckthorn brands compared: the table
Every competitor cell comes from that brand's product page or its published label image. Where a brand does not publish a figure, the cell says so instead of guessing. "One pack lasts" is simple arithmetic: servings in the pack divided by the daily amount on the brand's own directions.
| Brand and product | Format | Berries per serving | Sugar per serving | After opening | One pack lasts | Lab testing on product page | Taste, in the brand's words | Pack price (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Human Renaissance Sea Buckthorn Puree | Whole-berry puree, single-serve 30 mL pouches | 94 | 0 g | Nothing to finish: each pouch is one serving | 60 days at 1 pouch a day | lab-tested, report published | 100 percent berry, tart and tropical | $195 for 60 pouches |
| Sibu Omega-7 Pure | Puree in a 946 mL bottle, 1 fl oz (30 mL) serving | not published | 0.3 g | Refrigerate, best within 30 days (Sibu label) | 16 to 32 days at 1 to 2 oz a day | not shown on product page | "Strong, tart taste" (Sibu label) | $49.95 for 946 mL |
| Sibu Omega-7 Support Softgels | Fruit and seed oil softgels, 2 per serving | not published | not listed on label | Store in a cool, dry place (Sibu page) | 30 days at 2 softgels a day | Lab Results section on product page | not applicable (capsule) | $34.95 for 60 softgels |
| SeabuckWonders Omega-7 Complete | Berry and seed oil softgels, 2 per serving | not published | not listed on label | not stated on product page | 30 to 60 days at 2 to 4 a day | not shown on product page | not applicable (capsule) | $49.99 for 120 softgels |
| New Chapter Omega-7: Sea Buckthorn Blend | Supercritical extract capsules, 1 per serving | not published | not listed on label | not stated on product page | 60 days at 1 capsule a day | Page lists quality checks, including pesticides and heavy metals | not applicable (capsule) | $47.00 for 60 capsules |
Pack prices are one-time prices in USD as listed on each brand's own site on September 28, 2026; subscription discounts are not included. Swipe the table sideways on a phone.
Read the table in columns. Format tells you what kind of product you are buying. Berries per serving tells you which brands state how much fruit goes into one serving; only one does. Sugar tells you whether anything but the berry is in the glass. And the two columns about opening and pack life tell you what using it every day actually looks like.

Why format matters more than the brand name
Sea buckthorn is two products hiding in one berry. The fruit holds a water-soluble side, which includes vitamin C, flavonoids and other polyphenols, and a fat-soluble side, the oil in the pulp and the seeds with its carotenoids, tocopherols and fatty acids. The 2020 review by Ciesarová and colleagues in Food Research International describes exactly this: lipophilic and hydrophilic antioxidants present together in the fruit in unusually high amounts. That pairing is the reason people single out this berry.
Processing decides which side you keep. Pressing the pulp oil or extracting it with supercritical carbon dioxide gives you the fat-soluble side in concentrated form. Zielińska and Nowak (2017, Lipids in Health and Disease) describe sea buckthorn oil as coming from both the fruit and the seeds, with palmitoleic acid, the omega-7, as one of its signature fatty acids. What an oil cannot carry is vitamin C, because vitamin C is water-soluble, a basic point the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements makes in its vitamin C fact sheet. A puree keeps pulp and juice together, so both sides stay in the glass.
None of this makes a capsule a bad product. It makes it a different product. If an oil you can swallow with water is what you want, a capsule is built for that. If you want the berry as food, a capsule was never built to deliver it.
Human Renaissance: the whole berry in a single-serve pouch
Human Renaissance sea buckthorn puree contains 190+ naturally occurring compounds, omega 3, 6, 7 and 9, 201 mg of vitamin C per pouch (223% NRV), 0 g sugar and 5,640 hand-picked berries per box. Each 30 mL pouch is the puree of 94 berries, harvested wild on the Tibetan Plateau, above 3,000 metres, and in Inner Mongolia, where very little else grows. One box is 60 pouches, a two-month supply at one a day, for $195 USD.
Five things set it apart in this comparison, and each one is on the pack or on our site. It is the only product here sold as single-serve pouches, so there is never an open bottle to finish. It is the only one that states how many berries go into a serving: 94. It lists 0 g sugar. One box lasts 60 days. And every batch is lab-tested for pesticides and herbicides, with the report published on our What's Inside page. If you want to see how we count the berries, read how many sea buckthorn berries are in one pouch.
What it tastes like, honestly
Human Renaissance is 100 percent berry, so it tastes exactly like sea buckthorn: tart and tropical, somewhere between passion fruit and pineapple, with a sharp, bright finish. The first pouch hits the back of your throat with a Tabasco-sharp warmth, because nothing has been blended in to soften it. There is no sweetener in the pouch and no juice added to make it gentler.
Members take it four ways:
Straight from the pouch, cold, in one go. The fastest way, and the way to learn what the berry really tastes like.
With half an orange and a spoon of honey. Squeeze the orange into a glass, add the pouch and a spoon of honey, stir. A classic way to serve sea buckthorn, and the easiest first step for anyone who finds it too sharp.
In a smoothie, where banana, mango or yogurt round off the tartness.
Topped up with sparkling water over ice, for something closer to a bright, sour soda.
For more on the flavour and why the berry is so sour, read what sea buckthorn tastes like.
Sibu Omega-7 Pure: the other puree, in a bottle
Sibu's Omega-7 Pure is the product most like ours. Sibu describes it as an organic sea buckthorn juice puree and lists the ingredient as sea buckthorn fruit puree with no water added. The label sets a serving at 1 fl oz (30 mL), prints 0.3 g of sugar per serving and carries 32 servings in a 946 mL bottle, listed at $49.95 USD.
What Sibu does well: it prints a full supplement facts panel, it carries the USDA Organic seal on the label, and it tells buyers on the bottle that the taste is strong and tart, which is honest. Its directions are one to two ounces a day, shaken before each pour, refrigerated after opening and best used within 30 days, so one bottle lasts 16 to 32 days. We compare the two purees in detail in Sibu vs Human Renaissance.
Sibu Omega-7 Support Softgels
Sibu's softgel is a different product from its puree: a blend of sea buckthorn fruit oil and seed oil in plant-based softgels. The label sets one serving at 2 softgels, with 30 servings in a 60-count jar listed at $34.95 USD, a 30-day supply. The panel has no sugars row. In its favour: Sibu sells low-waste refill sachets for the jar, the softgels are plant-based rather than gelatin, and the product page has a Lab Results section.
SeabuckWonders Omega-7 Complete
SeabuckWonders' Omega-7 Complete is a blend of organic sea buckthorn berry oil and seed oil. Its supplement facts panel sets a serving at 2 softgels, the page's directions say to take 2 to 4 capsules a day, and the 120-softgel bottle is listed at $49.99 USD, which lasts 30 to 60 days depending on the dose you follow. What SeabuckWonders does well: its panel publishes the fatty acid ranges of both oils separately, which is more detail than most labels give, and the product page lists several Delicious Living award wins. No sugars row appears on the panel.

New Chapter Omega-7: Sea Buckthorn Blend
New Chapter's product is a supercritical extract of organic sea buckthorn fruit in a capsule, with smaller amounts of rosemary and calendula extracts listed on the panel. A serving is one capsule, the suggested use is one capsule daily with food, and the 60-capsule bottle is listed at $47.00 USD, a 60-day supply. What New Chapter does well: one capsule a day is the simplest capsule routine here, the label states it is certified gluten-free by NSF and 100% vegetarian, and the product page lists the quality checks its ingredients go through, including pesticides and heavy metals.
The label numbers worth reading first
Most sea buckthorn marketing leads with omega-7 because it is the berry's rarest fatty acid. When you are comparing brands, quieter numbers tell you more.
1. Berries per serving
This is the number almost nobody prints. Human Renaissance states 94 berries per pouch. None of the other four products publish a berry count, so those cells say "not published" rather than an estimate. For a full walkthrough, read how to read a sea buckthorn label.
2. Sugar per serving
Raw sea buckthorn is sour, so some juices add sweetener or blend in other fruit juices to make it drinkable. The two purees here do not. Human Renaissance lists 0 g sugar per 30 mL pouch and Sibu Omega-7 Pure lists 0.3 g per 30 mL; both are very low. If a sea buckthorn juice you are considering lists several grams per serving, check the ingredient line. We go deeper in how much sugar is in sea buckthorn.
3. What happens after you open it
A bottle of puree is opened on day one and poured from until it is empty; Sibu's own label says to refrigerate it and use it within 30 days. A single-serve pouch stays sealed until the day you drink it, so the sixtieth pouch in the box is opened fresh, just like the first.
Which one should you choose?
Choose a softgel or extract capsule if you want sea buckthorn oil you can swallow with water and are happy to leave the water-soluble side of the berry behind. New Chapter is one capsule a day; Sibu and SeabuckWonders give you the fruit and seed oils together.
Choose Sibu Omega-7 Pure if you want puree from a bottle and you are comfortable shaking, measuring and refrigerating it, and finishing it within about a month.
Choose Human Renaissance if you want the whole berry as food, 0 g sugar, 94 berries stated per serving, a published lab report, and one sealed 30 mL pouch a day with nothing to measure and no open bottle. The capsule side of this choice is covered in sea buckthorn puree vs capsules.

How to use this comparison this week
Step 1: decide whether you want the berry as food or an oil in a capsule. That single choice removes half the table.
Step 2: within your format, compare berries per serving and sugar per serving from the label image, not from the headline on the product photo.
Step 3: check the directions. How many servings a day does the brand suggest, and how long will one pack really last at that dose?
Step 4: if you choose a puree, drink the first serving cold and straight so you know what the berry tastes like, then try it with half an orange and a spoon of honey, in a smoothie or with sparkling water.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best sea buckthorn brand?
It depends on the format you want. If you want the whole berry as food, Human Renaissance is the only product in this comparison sold as single-serve pouches, with 0 g sugar, 94 berries per pouch stated on the pack and a published lab report. Sibu Omega-7 Pure is the other puree, sold in a bottle. If you want sea buckthorn oil in a capsule, Sibu, SeabuckWonders and New Chapter all make one.
Is sea buckthorn puree the same as sea buckthorn oil capsules?
No. A puree keeps the pulp and juice together, so it carries the berry's water-soluble side (vitamin C, polyphenols) along with its pulp oil. An oil softgel carries only the fat-soluble side, because vitamin C does not dissolve in oil. They are different products for different jobs.
Which sea buckthorn product has the least sugar?
On the labels we checked, the Human Renaissance pouch lists 0 g sugar per 30 mL and Sibu Omega-7 Pure lists 0.3 g per 30 mL. Both are very low. The three capsule panels print no sugars row at all.
What does Human Renaissance sea buckthorn taste like?
Tart and tropical, because it is 100 percent berry with nothing added to soften it. Members take it straight from the pouch, with half an orange and a spoon of honey, in a smoothie, or topped up with sparkling water.
How long does one pack last?
A Human Renaissance box of 60 pouches lasts 60 days at one a day. A Sibu Omega-7 Pure bottle lasts 16 to 32 days at Sibu's suggested one to two ounces a day. The capsule products last 30 to 60 days depending on the product and the dose on its label.
Is Human Renaissance affiliated with Sibu, SeabuckWonders or New Chapter?
No. Human Renaissance has no affiliation with, sponsorship from or endorsement by any of these brands. Their names appear only so readers can compare published label facts.
Where to go next
If the whole-berry format is the one that fits your day, one pouch a day is the simplest way to put it there. See Human Renaissance sea buckthorn puree.
Sources
- Sibu, Omega-7 Pure product page and label image (ingredient, serving 1 fl oz (30 mL), 32 servings, sugars 0.3 g, "Strong, tart taste", USDA Organic seal, suggested use and storage, price $49.95 USD), checked 2026-09-28: https://www.sibu.com/products/omega-7-sea-buckthorn-pure
- Sibu, Omega-7 Support Softgels product page and label image (fruit and seed oil blend, serving 2 softgels, 30 servings, storage, refill sachets, Lab Results section, price $34.95 USD for 60), checked 2026-09-28: https://www.sibu.com/products/omega-7-sea-buckthorn-oil
- SeabuckWonders, Omega-7 Complete product page and supplement facts panel (serving 2 softgels, directions 2 to 4 capsules daily, price $49.99 USD for 120), checked 2026-09-28: https://www.seabuckwonders.com/products/sea-buckthorn-oil-blend-omega-7-complete
- New Chapter, Omega-7: Sea Buckthorn Blend product page and supplement facts panel (serving 1 capsule, 60 count, quality checks, price $47.00 USD), checked 2026-09-28: https://newchapter.com/products/omega-7-sea-buckthorn-blend
- Human Renaissance, Sea Buckthorn Puree product page (60 pouches, $195 USD), checked 2026-09-28: https://humanrenaissance.ca/products/sea-buckthorn-puree; lab report: https://humanrenaissance.ca/pages/whats-inside#report
- Ciesarová Z, et al. Why is sea buckthorn (Hippophae rhamnoides L.) so exceptional? A review. Food Research International, 2020. PMID 32466930.
- Zielińska A, Nowak I. Abundance of active ingredients in sea-buckthorn oil. Lipids in Health and Disease, 2017;16:95. PMID 28526097.
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals: https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminC-HealthProfessional/
Specialists share education, not medical advice. This article compares published label facts; it does not claim that any product diagnoses, treats, cures or prevents any disease. Talk to your doctor before changing your diet if you are pregnant, nursing or taking medication.

